Ramapril and High BP

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have been using Ramipril for several months now and have gone through all of the usual side effects. My BP currently varies between 110/55 up to 195/95. For the past 6 months my GP's have been conducting trials having been taken off Bendrofloumethiazide.  I am taking 10mg at 2200 every night and the daily BP readings have stabilised to about 125/60 when I wake up at about 0730 and generlly drop to about 110 during the morning. Then start to rise after 1100 and by 1400 are about 130/65. This rise continues steadily to about 170/75 until I am ready to take my nightime dose. 

To help control the evening BP we are currently trying Candesartin 8mg twice a day but with little apparent effect.

To me, it appears that the Ramipril dosage is too small to cover the full day. After studying several websites there appears to be two trains of thought:

(1) Ramipril as a Preventative

(2) Ramipril for Hypertension

The max dosage appears to be 10mg when used as a preventative but when used for BP I get conflicting advice. Some say 10 max and others say 20 max for Hypertension use.

If the latter is correct then we have a suggested course of action - up the doage slightly. However, my GP's and pharmasist appear not to accept the higher dosage advice. Indeed, they are now beginning to argue among themselves about the use of both Ramipril and Candesartin together! 

I am used to the side effects now and just want my BP back under control. Has anyone else come across this 'Out of Control' feeling?

DCCDave

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted