Recently diagnosed - what can I do?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all,

I'm 22 and just been diagnosed with hypermobility syndrome by a rheumatologist. I've been struggling with achey joints for around 3-4 years and recently been starting to have back and abdominal pain. After years of visiting the GP for this and them being absolutely useless, I found a doctor who referred me to a rheumatologist. After basic tests he found I was hypermobile in both knees, both elbows and my fingers, did loads of blood tests they were all ok. 

I was wondering what exercise people do? I'm not very active and would like ot change that. I currently horse ride for an hour every week but thats about it. I work long hours and on my feet all day as I'm a veterinary nurse so fitting in exercise can be difficult as I'm usually fatigued! 

And what to people do pain wise? I have amitriptyline at night to help me sleep but in the day I have problems. Tired paracetemol, ibuprofen and naproxen but no effect really.

Thanks!

Vic x

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hey, I'm 21 I was diagnosed at 18. It's a really difficult condition to live with as treatments are supportive at best. I had to give up my job working in a supermarket because I couldn't even work on the checkouts without being in pain.

Don't do any sort of high impact activities such as running, jumping, jogging, being on your feet for too long or even sitting too long. Try not to lift heavy things as long as you can help it because all of these things just speed up the damage done to your joints. Things like cycling and swimming help, building up muscle to take the strain off of the weak tendons and ligaments. Wear braces on your knees and elbows when at work or doing your horse riding to help stabilise the joints and stop them moving around too much.