Recently discovered pilonidal abscess

Posted , 7 users are following.

I recently discovered I have a pilonidal abscess and I went to an urgent care and saw a nurse practioner. She said it's a good thing we caught it in it's early stage and she put me on antibiotics. It started paining me for three days and then I went to see her. I'm worried though from my research that antibiotics will not be enough and that I will eventually need surgery. Also they tend to reoccur which worries me. And after a day and half of antibiotics my abscess started oozing blood and pus.I'm just worried will antibiotics really do the trick for my pilonidal abscess that is so called in it's early stage? 

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Having cought it in the early stage is a good thing it means less damage on the inside, i have had 3 operations and now i think my fourth is starting up. They just seem to keep coming back
  • Posted

You can never tell how they will react to treatment until it has been done. Had my 16th fail at the end of last year and I have pretty much resigned myself to this lifestyle indefinitely after it being open constant for over 9 years.
  • Posted