Reoccurring shingles / strange pain

Posted , 8 users are following.

I am a 46 year old female who has had constant reoccurring shingles since i was 28. My first bout with them was when I was 21. I had the terrible rash on one side of my face and was very sick. Since then I get out breaks on my ear and chin. And 4 times in my eye. I have had them over 50 times. The thing I don't understand is the pain.

I get burning pain on both sides of my spine as well ass my sacrum along with horrible pain in the arches of both feet. Without a rash.

I am currently having a bout. It just popped up in only my left eye but as always the pain in my feet, sacrum and spine is excruciating. I feel awful like I have the flu.I eat very well and I am a yoga teacher. All of this helps but not enough. Doctor's really don't understand this disease. I've been to so many.. anyone have pain like this or a similar experience? I am terribly frustrated..????

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi,can you tell  me more about the shingles in your eye? I had this last March and have had really bad itching for the last few months,My eye gets very red and sore, despite various eye drops from the eye clinic.I worry about my vision in the futire if this continues,Did you have this problem?
    • Posted

Hey Jane,

So I got pain and sensitivity in my eye about a month after my first bout with full blown shingles. The light sensitivity was the worse. But I also started to get blurry vusion.

I was in college and didn't have medical so I waited until I got back to go to the Doctor. By the time I went in I couldn't see anything at all in my eye. The shingles had damaged the nerves badly. It took a month of serious eye drops every two hours as well as anti viral meds to get clear it. I almost lost my sight for good in one eye. It ended up being fine.

When it's reoccurred I go right to the eye Doctor and get it taken care of.