Return of dermatitis herpetiformis

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi there. I am new to any forums. I was diagnosed in 1998 and since going GF symptoms mostly disappeared including skin feeling permanantly itchy and dermatitis herpetiformis in places.. I did not have many gut problems but mostly joint pain, and what my family called my 'fogs' where I was so exhausted and dizzy that I had to lie down and also had bad headaches. I was first diagnosed as having ME but after a while a new GP advised me to be tested for Coeliac disease as he said he recognised my symptoms from a previous patient. Tests were positive and it was fantastic how quickly I recovered and have managed it well since then. However, recently the itchy feelings all over my skin have returned and also the dermatitis herpetiformis is back in the same places mostly on my head. As far as I know I have not had any food that is not GF but I have also been having bad headaches again. Has anybody had similar experiences and found a hidden source of gluten ? I do eat GF porridge every morning but have been doing this for 2 years since I first discovered it and use water to make it and add fruit. The symtoms have only appeared again in the last 2-3 weeks. Would be glad of any ideas.

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I found I could eat oats after a year but if I have more than one bowl a week I get symptoms. Some celiecs just can't tolerate oats. I have also found I've developed more allergies, peanuts make me itch, eggs cause inflamation and diary causes tiredness so I've cut those out as well and feel loads better. I also love crisps and react to Walkers if I eat them. Cross contamination in toasters, butter, pans is a something to watch. Hope you find the cause soon. I did a York test, expensive but the results really helped me to remove other food allergies out of my diet. Good Luck
  • Posted