return to work/steps and setting

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hi all, I have been following this forum since my TKR replacement on Jan. 9th and have found it to be extremely helpful.  Thank you all.  My question is there a typical time frame for returning to work?  From all the discussions I have seen I don't see how there can be.  Next week will be 7 weeks and I am afraid my doctor will release me back to work.  I have ment my goals for bending and straighting but still find it very hard standing and doing steps.  Also I tire very easyly and have no stamina and don't really think I am ready.  When do most TKR's return to work?

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hey Christine, I had TKR on Jan 9th also. My bend is 115, straightening 5. Worst part is lack of sleep because of discomfort. PT is helping. My doctor says I will be out till Apr 3rd. He wants to make sure I can sit for hours with no problems. (I'm an airline pilot). That's what we do best! LOL

• Posted

I am 9 weeks post op. It was my right knee so I just started driving last week. I am mostly pain free, except for tightness and kneecap sensitivity. However, a short trip to the grocery store and I am exhausted. I would definitely tell your doctor that you are definitely not ready to return to work. There is more to recovery than the bend/straight issue.
  • Posted

Hi I had my TKR on 6th January, and although I am retired I would not be in a position to work, so don't be hustled i to work.  I am also very tired a lot of the time and still in a lot of pain.  The physio told me yesterday your whole body not just your leg has been hit with a massive trauma and will take time and patience no two people are the same.  I walk, use,the exercise bike and can drive as Imhave an automatic car.  I could not contemplate a full day's work or school cen going out for a full day.  Go slowly you are only human.

• Posted