Schizophrenia and work

Posted , 3 users are following.

I have schizophrenia which was diagnosed 25 years ago but have managed full time employment all this time and am doing reasonably well

I like to experiment and one of the experiment that I have been doing is whether full time employment actually helps you keep mentally healthy. I even try to work while I develop my psychotic symptoms. Every 4 years my medicines loose some effectiveness and my psychotic symptoms return but I try to concentrate on my work and the same medicines start to work which I believe is because I try to concentrate on my work during this time

I am a software professional with a mentally challenging job

I am very curious to know if there are others who have schizophrenia and who have full time employment and if continuing in their job has helped them control their condition better

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi Vipan. I also have schizophrenia and just about hold down a full time job. I had a breakdown last year which took me out of work for a few months, but I was then able to come back and slowly pick up all my responsibilities again. I now have more than ever! Which I feel good about because it shows you can still progress and have a 'normal' life with mental health conditions.

Like you I also work with software, and my job involves programing, testing and future developments. As you said, this is a very mental challenging job..and I to find that a major benefit most of the time, as my mind is kept busy from my psychosis, anxiety and depression.. not to mention medication side effects!

• Posted

Hi Vipan, I have schzioaffective disorder and after another psychotic episode have gone back to work part time at the mo. I find working helps take my mind of the side effects of aripiprazole, which I find hard. I am a clerical assistant and first aider. What meds are you on? I am on ability, lithium and citralopram.
    • Posted

Hi Louise