secondary hyperparathyroid with muscle and eye problems

Posted , 6 users are following.

I rec. Radio iodine treatment for Graves desease 11 months ago, yet my general health and mobility has deterioted. Levothyroxin has gradually been increased to 125, now 100 micrograms daily. I practically begged my GP to re refer me back to endocrinologist as I can barely walk somedays due to swelling and inflammation especially in my legs, I am also struggling with incredible amount of weight gain and watering eyes drooping of one eye.Did finally see endo again 2 weeks ago, my calcium has been on low side for last 18 months and I have low vit D. He says I now have secondary hyperparathyroidism. Does any of this sound familiar? Now taking vit D.

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

• Posted

Oh Janice,  feel so bad for you.  I am no expert on any of this and have lost faith in the private sector as well as the NHS as many of us have done. I am struggling to a point with so called primary hyperparathyroidism and come up against a brick wall as the endocrinologists are so ignorant.  However, it does sound like secondary if you have low calcium.  If you are on facebook, I suggest you join a private group where everyone has written their experiences and you might get some advice from there and will certainly get some sympathy and perhaps help,  its Hyperparathyroid UK Action for Change

Good luck, hope to see you there

Elaine 

• Posted

Thanks Elaine, its good to know someone is listening..I am on facebook so will try your suggestion.

Bye for now

• Posted

Hello Janice:

My name is Shelly and I am an RN in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's disease,  since 1987,  but I know both sides of the thyroid very well.