Selincro - just started 3 days ago

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi I am 44 year old female, I drink a bottle of wine a night and maybe 1 or 2 beers aswell. I have been drinking for the last 25 years Id say. I have tried to give up a few times but I dont really want to give up , I want to be able to be  like normal people and decide to have a glass of wine with dinner and just leave it at that. I remember when I gave up smoking I used nicotine replacement therapy for about 2 or 3 months and it worked it weened me of smoking 30 cigs a day. So I have been dreaming about finding a therapy that might do the same for my drinking, and I think Selincro might help. I started it last Thursday and was amazed that I only felt like havin 1 glass of wine and didnt need to go for another and was quite happy going off to bed without more. Friday I was happy to have a glass or 2 or wine because hopefully this will be the new me just a glass or 2 a few times a week and not everyday. So Friday I had 2 wines and was happy with that also, amazed I am. So Saturday (last night) was a bit of a disaster I went to my sisters house for dinner and drinks and I knew I was going to have a drink and I didnt want to beat myself up about it, this is what I want to be able to do, have fun at the family partys have the drinks and not keep going the next day at the same level. So I had 6 cans of beer last night, in reflection, my sister just kept giving bloody me a refill when my can was empty, (as she normaly would) I guess I made the mistake of not telling her to just leave me to the task of fetching my own drink. I just wonder would I have slowed down as 6 cans is quite normal for me at a family get together. So a litle lesson learned there. So now I feel like I  let myself down and drank too much last night , and that bloody guilt is nearly as bad as the drink. But I wont give up I have a really good feeling about Selincro. So I will take my pill this evening at 4pm,, Sundays are a day I usal