Sertraline side effects

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I've been taking sertaline for six/seven weeks at 50mg and last week my doctor put them up to 100mg. Since yesterday I've become extremely hyperactive and bouncing off the walls. I find really random things hilarious, I have been singing everything, my thoughts are super fast, I've been jumping about and thinking things like I could jump off the roof and be fine. Normally thoughts like that would make me upset but I think it's all great. I feel really wired basically. It's a very nice feeling and I feel extremely happy. Has anyone else had this side affect from sertaline? X

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Clancy

I thinik this med is an SSRI, I found that SSRI's made me hyper like this until I started taking a mood stabiliser and anti-psychotic.  To me, and I'm no medical professional, it sounds as if you are exepriencing hypo-mania which is a symptom, when combined with depression, of bipolar II.  I think you need to get back to your dr. or psychitrist quickly and get an expert opininion and possible extra meds.  I used to really enjoy the hypo-mania when I was so creative, but it also led me into destrcutive behaviour in time and after every attack, another round of depression.

Again, I stress I'm not a medic but I do think you need an expert opinion

With my best wishes

xxxx

• Posted

Hi Lizzie,

apologies for contradicting you here, but I think adding extra meds to counter drug side effects (Sertraline can cause hypomania) is not the right way to go.

Each additional drug you put into the brain will change the brain architecture over the long term and each drug has the risk of nasty side effects.

Additionally, coming off a drug cocktail like that is more difficult if you ever want to quit.

I would rather drop the dose again (slowly and with the help of the doctor!!!). Abrupt changes in dose are dangerous.