Setraline- what to know before starting!

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am a 22 year old who was prescribed Setraline for "situational anxiety" (I studied abroad for a month which made me very anxious). I have been on Setraline for 6 months (even though I really only needed it for about a month). One my prescription was up, I decided I really didn't need it anymore and just stopped it this past Saturday. Every day since I have the spins, ALL day. It feels as if I'm intoxicated almost. I also throw up every day from this. I was only on 50mg. If I could go back and do this all over, I would have never ever taken Setraline. This feeling is miserable; it makes me incapable of doing so many things. In my opinion, it is better to live with anxiety instead of taking medication to treat it. I have never felt so ill and "off" in my life. My brain is not working like it should be and it scares me; I want to cry all of the time. I wish my Dr. had told me that this could happen when going off of Setraline. I would have NEVER started it in the first place.

If anyone out there has anxiety, I recommend using other methods such as talking with a therapist, doing yoga, eating healthy, working out, pretty much anything to avoid taking medication. Trust me, you will be thankful in the long run! This feeling is unbearable and worse than my anxiety ever made me feel.

2 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

You sould never just stop this med that's why you feel so bad you need to ween yourself off them slowly
    • Posted

You are 100% right!! I was not informed this by my doctor & once I started feeling so ill, I did some research & learned this. I called my Dr. yesterday & am waiting to hear back on what I should do. I just hope everything else is informed about weening yourself off! I wish I would have been....
    • Posted

Just remember you need to do this slowly the slower the better good look
  • Posted

I agree
    • Posted