Severe panic disorder help / advice please!

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello folks, I am a newbie here and wondered if anyone has similar symptoms to me or am I just going mad?

Basically, I have been suffering Panic Attacks on and off for almost 35 years. My doctor, who is a lovely guy, is convinced I am BiPolar, but I have never ever suffered from depression, nor am I ever manic. I have been on 150 mg of Venlafaxine daily for over 5 years and I am certainly reliant on it, as found out last year when I forgot to take it for two days!!! I won't do that again!!

Anyway, my symptoms are straightforward, I will suddenly and for no reason take a severe panic attack, will all the associated symptoms. After a while ranging from minutes to hours I get my panic under control, but then spend the next weeks and months in a very fragile mental state worrying when the next one will hit!

My latest episode was around one month ago and I can't seem to shake off the ripples of panic that are there, worrying about the next biggie!

As if that's not bad enough, I have developed cricopharyngeal spasm to worry about......

So my question is whether anyone out there recognises my symptoms, can anyone suggest better meds or treatment or am I just bonkers!

Thanks for reading anyway......

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

Sorry to hear your not to good with panic attacks,horrible I have them don't really know any tips except I

just try to take deep breaths which why you are concentrating on the breathing seems to help. but as for meds, I won't take them so pat on the back for taking them.But just try and ho with them don't fight them had as many say nobody has ever died from a panic attack. i have them I wake in the morning wondering how to get through the day but some how we do. Keep posting on here it does help to know you are not alone. if you ever want to pm me feel free.Good Luck

• Posted