Short term low dosage Gabapentin still experiencing significant withdrawal symptoms

Posted , 54 users are following.

Hi all

Took Gabapentin for 17 consecutive days at 1 x 300mg capsule at night. Prescribed for lower back neuropathic pain. No impact on pain and didn't like how this med made me feel - constant "spaced out" feeling, unable to focus or concentrate at work or driving and completely flat mood. So, decided to stop taking it cold turkey 7 days ago. Having taken a relatively low dose for just under 3 weeks I thought there'd be no issues at all. How wrong can you be?!!! I'll mention that I've no previous experience of anxiety or depression and not taken any other meds recently. Last course of tablets were antibiotics a couple of years ago. So, In no particular order I've experienced the following symptoms since stopping GP - Anxiety to the point of jumping out of my skin, periods of significant low mood, whole body tremor, chills, disrupted and non refreshing sleep, severe muscle twitching in legs and an array of stomach issues. I find it incredible that this has happened and that this med can have such a profound effect in such a short space of time. Would love to hear if anyone else has suffered similarly after taking low dose for short periods?

8 likes, 153 replies

153 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm surprised, but not totally amazed-having followed this discussion for some months (when I decided to get off this drug myself) I can say that it is not impossible the symptoms are withdrawal from gabapentin. I will however say, it does eventually settle down. How long since you stopped taking it?

• Posted

Hi Lucy

I've been off GP for 8 days now. Definitely not the experience I was hoping for! I think the worst thing for me is being ambushed by overwhelming fear/Anxiety from nowhere. It's horrendous, however it does settle down. Just keep telling myself that it will get better eventually.

• Edited