Should I take anti-depressants? Any advice would be great?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

I'm a 24 year old guy, and I've been suffering from depression for around 9 or 10 months. It hit me out of the blue, not triggered by a loss or grief, but suddenly I could barely muster the motivation to get out of bed or do anything. I'm a professional painter, and creatively, I now have a complete mental block, I sometimes struggle to even see the point in trying to paint any more.

I've always been a positive person, people (friends and family) seem to always come to me with their problems because they say I'm easy to talk to. ''We don't know what we'd do without you, Francis. We'd all go mad'' is a bit of a jokey saying amongst my friends.

Admittedly, sometimes this has become a little tough; my girlfriend and family members see me as the go-to-guy to talk to when they've had a bad day. But, while I'm always happy to listen, sometimes this leaves me worn out and draines, and lacking in any motivation to talk about my own issues.

Now, I've just been feeling tired all the time, like all I want to do is sleep. I want to sit in silence, or read, alone. People are always telling me I look tired, or seem quiet.

My girlfriend had been saying I should go and ask for some anti-depressants from the doctor. So, I went to the doc. He was very understanding, and gave me a leaflet on Citalopram, telling me to think it over.

I found out that a couple of members of my family take Citalopram, and have been doing for years. And, honestly, this terrified me. The idea that I could possibly need medication to function normally again for years to come?

I was wondering if anybody had any advice they could share with me about their experiences with anti-depressants? 

I'm at a loss to be honest, about what to do. Perhaps I should try a natural approach: healthier eating, regular excercise, councelling - or maybe medicine is the answer?