So there is a way to get a diagnosis??

Posted , 5 users are following.

I've read a couple of discussions and noticed someone said they got a diagnosis from the doctor. I'm new to this, so I hope this doesn't sound to ignorant, but I didn't know they could officially diagnose cfs. I'm going to talk to my doctor about it. I've told many doctors how I feel and none of them has ever mentioned this condition. I've had blood work done and it all looks "normal". But, I know being tired all the time and needing 12 hours of sleep a night is not normal. I've just learned to live with it somehow. I've tried iron supplements, exercise, getting enough sleep, drinking plenty of water, taking vitamins, naps etc. and nothing has helped or changed in 30 yrs. Stress makes it worse as Im sure others will agree.  Thanks for any info.

1 like, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Stephanie I feel your pain, I have been to many doctors and can't really receive a straight answer. I have had several tell me that it is possible I have it,but nobody wants to officially diagnose it. The reason they don't like bringing it up is because there is no official testing they can do to prove you have it. The only way to be diagnosed is the process of eliminating all other possibilities.

• Posted

I hope they find a cure. I was reading where there is research that shows ppl with CFS show similar cellular characteristics of animals that hibernate. This theory is this process gets triggered in us by a virus and never shuts off. Thus, our bodies are on constant "hibernate" mode. That's the way it feels too. 

• Posted

Hi Stephanie,

If you're in the UK, ask to be referred to the nearest cfs/me clinic. They seem to be able to give a definite on it. All blood tests have to be normal before you can be referred though.

Hope that helps

Beverley

• Posted