Started on levothyroxine

Posted , 10 users are following.

Please advise as after being on this levothyroxine 50 for 2 weeks I feel lousy. My worry is my legs below the knee hurt me like my bones are aching. Also constipation like you wouldn't believe. Is this the norm ? Also do I need to change my diet as not been on a diet for a while after being diagnosed with under active thyroid. Any advise please ?

Dawn x

3 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Dear Dawn

Please go through the constituents of this drug including the fillers and additives. I have just discovered that the magnesium tablets that I have been taking contain maize. I am intolerant to this horrid substance.

Maize is incorporated in many medications as is GLUTEN and AMARANTH and ASPARTAME.

Jean

• Posted

Hello Dawn: 

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease and it makes me Hypothyroid.

LEVO is a thyroid replacement drug and it takes about 6 to 8 weeks to build a proper level in the body.

Some symptoms of low thyroid are: Weight gain, feeling cold, muscle aches, feeling depressed, dry skin, brittle nails and constipation, hair loss. There are more but these are common.

The medication needs to be taken on an empty stomach and some of us with thyroid problems have low Vitamin D.  This can also cause muscle aches.  You should have a ferritin level drawn along with a mineral panel, if you are low it will effect how the hormone works and gets absorbed.

You should take a good multi-vitamin daily.  Also give the LEVO a chance to work and build a level. 

Diet:  Drink lot's of water, it keeps your bowel hydrated. Warm fluids like just HOt Water have helped with constiaption.  Watch carbs as they can make you bulk.  No junk foods or soda.  Apples provide good fiber and salads allow good roughage in the bowel.  Avoid Alcohol, as it is pure calories.