Stretching Exercises Pre Op

Posted , 14 users are following.

I follow the posts on the Forum very carefully, and have noticed that a lot of peple are experiencing a lot of pain in their upper thigh, front and back, knee, calf, ankle, etc.  In fact throughout the entire leg and buttocks. 

Two years ago, my physio gave me a set of exercises, the usual program.  However, they include stretches that exercise the entire hip and leg.  What I am wondering is whether or not pre ops are still following the exercises, right up to the day before the op is due?  I am no expert, as I am still very much a "beginner!"  But, something is telling me that it is very important to keep going on the exercises, right up to almost the last minute, because stretching and maintinaing those muscles that are not working correctly because of the bad hip, need to be toned up, so that recovery is not quite as trauatic post op?

I am wondering what the post ops have kept up on their pre op exercises, and if they have, have they found that the exercises helped after their ops?

I have a suspicion that it is a great temptation to give up on the exercises when discomfort becomes more intense, and it is felt that the exercises are no longer benefiecial?  What do you think?  

3 likes, 77 replies

77 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes susie,

in theory you are correct. In practice we get so fed up towards the time of our op after waiting so long that we kind of go past caring and give up. Having said that, I did a lot of trips to the baths before the op and did a lot of exercises in the pool to keep the good leg toned. I work on the idea that the exercises can't do any harm if they don't do any good. Also it keeps the rest of your body ticking over ready for the op. So basically keep plodding on!rolleyes

• Posted

HI Sjirley:

That is what I thought - people give up without realising that the exercises are still beneficial.  

On, I intend to plod!

Best wishes,

Susie

• Posted