surgery

Posted , 3 users are following.

Had the first surgery 12 days ago. and hand still painful what should realistic expectations be as i will have next surgery next week..  I have been off work as i would not be able to work with this pain

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ron - I had my surgeries two weeks apart. Quite honestly, at least from my experience, it took four months to get rid of the pain completely. You will experience variations of pain from stabbing, shooting, stinging, etc., for quite a while. 

We all are different and hopefully you'll get through yours without too much pain. All I know is it got to the point where I never thought I was going to be pain free. Here I am 7 months later and I will still get a twinge or two but basically pain free. You didn't mention what kind of work you do. There were certain things I couldn't do for quite a while.

Good luck and keep us posted. 

• Posted

im a driver job doesnt allow any restrictions   how long were u off
  • Posted

one of the problems I did have was gripping the steering wheel of my car. My work involved a lot of data input on a computer use of my hands and fingers. Resting my hands so I could type was uncomfortable. My first surgery I only took three days off. My 2nd one I had additional surgery done on a finger so I was a hurting unit and took two weeks off. Unfortunately, you're going to be in pain for a while. After a while the incision site is the most pain. Like I said, for me, four months before I could say I was pain free with an occasional twinge that reminded me my hands were cut into. You'll get through this. Hang in there -
  • Posted

Hi-had surgery 5 weeks ago, has helped me to wear the brace at night and some during the day. It rubbed a bit at first but not too bad. Can move all fingers & make a fist. Still slightly swollen and tender but have returned to Zumba with no problem. Massage it daily (or hubby helps me!) Good luck!
  • Posted