Surgical menopause

Posted , 5 users are following.

hi, im37 years. I have recently had a total hysterectomy and I'm looking into HRT. I'm considering an alternative HRT such as black cohosh, the reasons behind this is my age and the fact that I will be on HRT for a lonnnng time and the cancer risks are what concern me. Any advice/info really would be gratefully received. Thank you for your time.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lisa,

im no expert but I had a partial hysterectomy a year ago and had been on HRT for 5 months so I've given it a go but I felt rotten , distant and just no energy so I'm now trying Ayurvedic medicine and currently in a light detox before I go onto herbs full of phytoestrogens.

Definitely try alternative therapies, I've also found seeing a nutritionist very encouraging and having help with eating the right foods...acupuncture also worked very well for me...very calming and balancing... it's just researching all the time and finding a support group like this really helps!

all the best, you're not alone

• Posted

I have been using hrt for 26+ years and don't plan to go off it.  Always oestradiol - it is bio-identical.  Started with pellet implants, then when they stopped making them, I went on to patches (the strongest strength) topped up with a gel day because they don't last long enough for me.  This year I found a compound chemist who makes the pellets and now back to having implants.  For me, the best way, as the body only takes the oestrogen as it needs it.

However, my body needs a lot and I use up a 12 month one in 9 months.  The only side effects have been good ones.

You will find a lot of ladies on this forum who have used oestrogen long term and plan to keep doing so forever.

• Posted