Swelling hand

Posted , 4 users are following.

hi, I am in my 4th year with RA.  I am taking MTX, folic acid and started Oriencia 5 month ago. My right has been swollen for at least 3 months, not only is it slightly swollen but the palm part under the knuckles stays sore and red.  I have noticed that if I don,t use my right hand very much it goes down somewhat and it's not so red ( my left hand has a bit of swelling betweeen the index and middle finger, but that's it, so I find that I am using my left hand more. Taking Avil helps take some of the swelling down.  2 nights ago I woke up to my hand hurting so bad that I had to get up. I put ice and heat, took a pain pill and stayed up till morning.  Applied heat and ice off and on all day plus pain pills and by today it is somewhat better. Right now it's not very bad but I have not used it at all today. Although it is still sore in the palm area under the knuckles. I hope you all understand all this. Question, has anybody had a problem like this where one hand is so very painful and the other on isn't? I also take 2 mg. Prednisone.  Thanks

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I don't know if it will help but I take 5 mg prednisone daily. I HATE taking it but everyone I wean off, I'm back to pain. Might be time to check with your Rheumatologist. Good luck to you.

• Posted

Hi steelctygirl, you know it's so interesting about prednisone, I have been on 2 mg for quite awhile and the other day after I got my treatment I thought about trying to drop one of the pills. I did not do that and took my regular 2 mg and had the pain that ruined my sleep.  I guess I shouldnt let my brain think that way, lol

• Posted

You're right Jo. I've only had RA since April & I learn something everyday. For instance, RA is an adventure I could live without. Remember we are all so different when it comes to this disease. Take your doctors advise BUT listen to your body. I hope you are pain free soon. Take care of yourself.

• Posted