Posted , 3 users are following.

I have made blood test and lipid profile test and the results was as follows:

Serum Total Cholesterol: 228 mg/dl

Serum Triglycerides: 133 mg/dl

HDL Cholesterol: 55 mg/dl

LDL Cholesterol: 146 mg/dl

VLDL Cholesterol: 27 mg/dl

HDL Risk Factor: 4.15

Should I take statin or not, considering that I was also diagnosed with Atrial Fibrillation and I take bisoprolol fumarate 2.5mg as a treatment.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Mostafa - I'm not a doctor, but I am a survivor of Statin use. Dreadful stuff. I would suggest you read "The Great Cholesterol Myth" by Bowden Phd - particularly chapter 6. Also online you can view a very informative doco called "Statin Nation." It will serve you well to be thoroughly informed before you consider using Statin drugs. Best of luck to you.

• Posted

I am not a medical pro, far from it.  My expertise is in electronics.  But from the numbers I have seen in my own case as a patient, it looks like you don't need to be on them at all, and as such should not be.  WAY too much is riding on it.  WAY too much risk to your health.  Keep searching this site for corroboration, you'll find stories of permanent damage caused by statins.

It looks like your HDL (good cholesterol) is higher than optimal, your LDL (bad cholesterol) is sustantially lower than critical, both of which combine to yours being the ideal cholesterol situation.  Why even consider going on them?

Your trigiicerides look a little high. Again, I am not a medical pro, but since statins contribute to diabetes, it would seem they would not be recommended in your case and could increase your trigliceride levels. Statins were not designed to help with trigricerides at all, so that's another no.