Taking metformin when in menstration

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi,

please is it advicable to take metformin when in period or should it be break when period start.

I have try asking my physician but he not responding.

please can some one enlighten me on it.

because i normally stop taking it when my period start and take when it stops.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I take 250 mg of Metformin, twice a day. So 500 mg per day. I do not get my period regularly, but when I do get my period (although not very often), I keep taking the metformin as prescribed. I personally do not stop when mensturating. 
    • Posted

Hannah thanks for your response so please should i start again when i have stop it for like a week now.
    • Posted

I think you would be totally fine again. Sometimes my metformin upsets my stomach a lot for a few days / weeks at a time, and I stop taking it, then then start again when I feel ready. I'm not a doctor or anything rememver!!! But yes, I think that you should be fine to start again smile 

• Posted

You have to take it continuously! Why would you stop? It's not like the pill.

• Posted

I stopped taking it for a little bit because it was hurting my stomach. Making me nauseous or have diarrhea. I gave it a break and then started again a little bit later.
    • Posted

Yes it's the side effects of glucophage, felt those things, nauseous all the time as if youre pregnant and hair loss, my goodness I thought i have cancer for I'm loosing lots of hair.That's why you have to take it in smaller/half of your dosage for a few days first before you take the whole prescribed amount . Asked my doc bout it actually.

• Posted

my period won't stop but i have start taking the metformin and i will not stop .

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!