Temporal Arteritis following Surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

My Temporal Arteritis onset was sudden immediately following surgery with general anesthesia.  I was a healthy 57 year old female before.  Has anyone else had this experience?  My holistic MD said it is possible a viurs or bacterium was introduced during surgery that cause my immune system to go into overdrive. 

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

I was a nurse-anesthetist in a large, prestigious, hospital and have never seen

n this after surgery. I myself developed PMR after a small bowel obstruction involving a bowel leak from "dead bowel" requiring 11/2 ft. small bowel removal. It was a big stress and I was near death. 

Some members here can pinpoint a stress others have no clue as to what has triggered PMR. I was exposed to bacteria and required multiple antimicrobials and antifungals. 

Even though measures are taken to ensure sterile conditions for surgery one can be exposed to microbes in other areas of the hospital, from unwashed hands, contaminated surface and even the bad microbes living on your own skin you yourself   walk around with all the time.

Even if we knew the cause we just have to deal with it.

• Posted

Hi for what it is worth I was 66 and healthy and developed GCA in a very short period of time and my Doc told me he now has another patient very similar to me. We both cycle 4 - 5000 k a year and we both developed GCA quicker than normal

Good luck

• Posted

Or even just the stress of the surgery was enough to be the straw that broke the camel's back - and sent your immune system into overdrive.