This is possibly a really stupid question...

Posted , 5 users are following.

I was diagnosed with polycythaemia vera in the spring so I am a real beginner here.

I have been reading the various postson this forum and I have been surprised at the widely differing experiences of other people who have this condition.

My question is this. Is it possible for one person, over the course of their lifetime, to only have a light version of it while another person gets a severe version of it? Or does the illness develop from light to severe over time with symptoms increasing in their effect on the body and the number of symptoms increasing over time?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I was told my blood been bad since 2005 but my heavy periods masked it, and my GP never picked up on it.

I belive people can have different levels of the PV.

Some have blood clotting issues, enlarged spleen, itchy skin, redness etc.

Some have lots of symptoms others just some.

I'm having more issues now, but also aware of it now, 10 years ago I didn't know why my head hurt etc.

• Posted

Hello Angela