TKR Am I resting too much?

Posted , 15 users are following.

This is my sixth day after TKR and I always seem to be resting in bed. The pain is so bad that I can't sleep much. Should I be walking around the house more? Just going to the bathroom exhausts and drains me. This morning I had a shower and I couldn't wait to get back into bed. I try all the bed exercises but I am still not able to lift my leg up. I have tried the towel under the knee but the stabbing pain is really bad. 

Unfortunately because of allergies I'm not very good with pain killers.The main tablet makes me very sickly but I have another tablet to help combat that. 

I am very down today and keep crying. I just look at my knee and think 'What an earth have I gone and done?' 

I know I'm being a big softee but reading other peoples experiences on here does help as I know others are suffering too.

It's just that it's so hard to exercise when there is so much pain. 

0 likes, 39 replies

39 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm so sorry you are feeling so down. As a 15 week tkr let me say you are feeling NORMAL for a new tkr! You will be so tired for several weeks! Please rest all you need to so your body will heal. Walk to the bathroom or another short distance every 45 min just to keep the knee moving. But rest, rest, rest in these early days. As I write this I am at the gym cycling. But in the first month I was just like you. God bless and good luck!

• Posted

Hi saralice, u r not being a big softee it is a huge surgery that u had and u can't go and try to do too much before u are able, don't push on the chance that u may hurt yourself. Truthfully I went to rehab after my surgery for 7 days and took it 1 Day at a time. U r so early on in your recovery and I still rest all the time and I'm 8 wks post op. Your body will let u know when it is ready to do more. Good luck and rest all u need to

• Posted