Toe nail problem

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I'm new to this and was wondering if anyone had any advice please..

15 months ago I dropped a heavy mirror on my toe, it was bruised the nail stayed on for about 4 months and then came loose and dropped off.

Underneath there was a small nail already starting to grow, which over the past year grew but th nail was discoloured and quite tender, so i saw the GP who prescribed me a 6 month course of tablets Terbinafine which i have been taking for over a year with no improvement, i soak my feet every day with bicarbonate soda to keep it clean etc. Half the nail is dead so i cut it back but it looks as if something is growing underneath, its growing upwards. I am unable to get rid of whatever it is underneath. Ive attached a picture if anyone has any ideas?

Thanks in advance.  

3 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Terbinafine is an anti fungal, so you probably to not have a fungal infection so it will not be much good. I must admit the best thing I ever did was go to a chiropodist who is brilliant. She is also a podiatrist. She cost thirty five pounds and sorted out the nasty pain I was having. I wish I had gone to her a long time before. 
  • Posted

Hi Sarah, 

I had a toe nail that looked very similar to yours. Actually mine looked much worse. The whole nail was white and brittle.

This is what worked for me:

Every evening I would make a 'small sock' by cutting of the finger part of a disposable glove. (I works best with the non-latex ones.) I would cut it just big enough to fit over the toe. Then I would squirt a small amount of antifungal cream into the 'sock' and pull it over the toe.  The nail should be just covered with cream. To fix the sock I used micro-porous tape ( a plaster will also work fine).