Tramadol and Zopiclone?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Have just been prescribed tramadol 50mg for trapped nerve pain. Occasionally I take 7.5mg zopiclone as I have trouble sleeping, and notice that it is advised not to take sleeping tablets with tramadol, I only use them now and again for 2/3 nights would this be OK? 

1 like, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

(I'm not a doctor, but) Those two medications at that dose sound ok.  Granted, everyone handles mediacation differently.  Just be careful as the Zopiclone is a CNS depressant, and combining it with Tramadol can increase the effects of both medications.
  • Posted

No I definitely would not take that combination. Tramadol can suppress breathing in some people and combined with a sedative, this could be a lethal combination. I coulld not take tramadol after pm or it would stop me breathing every time I lost consciousness and I would jerk awake (luckily). Other people find that tramadol helps them to sleep and so you may find yoou don't have trouble sleeping whilst on it.
    • Posted

Sorry, that post was meant for the OP.
    • Posted

i experience the same issue when take tramadol I didn't understand why until I came across your comment

• Posted

If your doctor prescribed both (as they are both prescriptive drugs) then you should be ok.  If YOU are not sure, either ring your doctor or go to your nearest pharmacy, they will definitely be able to tell you (see as they are qualified to dispence drugs)
  • Posted

Have just been in touch with my GP and it is OK to use both, no problem.
    • Posted

Hope they start to kick in for you. The nice thing about taking the zoplicone is, although it is an addictive drug, you can stop taking it without side effects
  • Edited