Trust Me, I'm a Doctor - GCA

Posted , 7 users are following.

One to watch for those of us with GCA.

BBC2 this Wednesday, 15 February at 8pm. GCA is one of the topics they will be discussing.

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes this was trailed by PMRGCAuk.co.uk in their newsletter as follows:

TRUST ME, I'M A DOCTOR

Trust Me, I’m A Doctor, the BBC’s flagship health programme, is planning a major item on Giant Cell Arteritis, the needless sight loss caused by poor diagnosis and treatment, and the benefits of a fast track system for patients. BBC producers attended our AGM and Members’ Day last June and carried out some filming. The programme is currently scheduled to be broadcast on Wednesday 15th February - keep an eye on our website for any changes.

With best wishes from all at PMRGCAuk

• Posted

Will you be able to watch it in the US?  In Canada I can't view programs on US or UK networks.  The US thing is particularly irritating as we get the networks on cable, and I don't see why I shouldn't have the ability to view the same programs on my computer at a later time.  I'm too cheap to pay for DVR capability! frown

• Posted

Yes, should be well worth watching.  I attended PMRGCAuk's AGM last summer where filming took place for the purpose of featuring GCA in one of the BBC's programmes and its risk of loss of eyesight due to lack of diagnosis, and the benefits of a fast track system for patients.  Well done BBC for highlighting our cause.  

• Posted

I watched the programme, very good. Had the scan for GCA 2 weeks ago. (ok) What  surprised me though was telling viewers  to go to your doctor if you suspect GCA.....don`t think that would be quick enough!  A&E more like.....

• Posted

A&E would be first choice for me too, Linda, after my own experience in battling to get a diagnosis from GPs for my horrid symptoms some years ago.  Mind you, having said that I hope GCA never rears its ugly head a second time, once was enough!