Ultrasound revealed gallbladder sludge and I got referred to a general surgeon?

Posted , 9 users are following.

The past year has been pretty intense for me health wise. I recently went to the doctors for pretty moderate weight loss that was definitely unintentional. I'm 21, 5 foot 4 and normally weigh 125-130. Now I weigh 108. This may not sound like much but I'm very petite, none of my clothes fit me anymore.

I had blood work done and the only abnormal thing were my liver enzymes that were slightly elevated ( AST: 79 and ALT: 61. So my GP ordered an ultrasound because I was also experiencing some pain in he upper right quadrant of my abdomen.

I just got the results today and was told that I had some sludge in my gallbladder that could be causing my symptoms and was referred to a general surgeon. Now I'm not a doctor but, wouldnt the sludge more likely be caused by the weight loss rather than the weight loss caused by the sludge? And why would I be sent to a general sergeon when most of the time the sludge isn't a big deal and does not require removing the gall bladder?

Any advice would help. I'm just very confused and would like some input and thoughts. Thank you.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted