Upcoming TKR

Posted , 21 users are following.

I've been battling right knee pain for several years. I'm finally going to get TKR done on Jan 9th. I was feeling optimistic until reading some of the posts. Am I going to regret this? 

0 likes, 28 replies

28 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi.. the op itself is a piece of cake.... the 1st few days are obviously the most painful, (I'm not going to lie). I did wonder what I'd done. However, you've had the pain for years, so a few weeks further discomfort you can handle. You will have good and bad days, but knowing that will help you. When you have it done, let us know if you have any queries. I've learnt more off talking/listening to people and Google, than the Dr's. Good luck... 😃😃

• Posted

Hi Ken, no definitely not, but it is better to be prepared as it is a huge challenge. I only got through it thanks to the wonderful people on this forum - I am 5 months out and am strengthening my long unused muscles.... a whole new life awaits. Read Chico Marx's posts and indispensable guide, ask everyone questions all the time, especially when you feel down or overwhelmed. It is so worth it. Good luck

Warm regards

Susie

• Posted

If you need a TKR and don't have the op your knee will continue to deteriorate - have the op and little by little your knee will improve. It's not an easy road to recovery but well worth the effort.

• Posted

I did the same with other tests and operations I had. You look stuff up to see what it's like. When you read to much you wish you hadn't. Everyone's different. I seen more good posts than bad ones. Don't get yourself all stressed out before the op.

• Posted

Ken I've had both knees done 2 years ago / first two weeks can be difficult but it's the best thing I ever did. Lots of physical therapy/ I was in it for a year/ let us know how it goes / and I'm 4 months post op RTHR/ Doing good / full mobility and no pain/ good luck

• Posted