Very new to asthma - need advice please?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hey all,

I'm extremely new to asthma. I'm 29 and never had it in my life or used an inhaler until 2 days ago.

To sum things up: I quit smoking last Feb after 13 years and noticed that after that I didn't cough any "gunk" up that people talk about coughing up. I developed asthma (never diagnosed other than MD listening to lungs and saying it sounds tight in there) out of the blue a few months later and was given Ventolin HFA.

I finally just used it (8 months later) and now it's causing me to cough up mucus. Is this a good thing?

I also just had a chest x ray Saturday for chest pain and it said I had mild hypo inflation and subtle bibasilar atelectasis so I know something is going on as to why I can't breathe very well.

I do also have a ton of allergies (that I was just tested for the first time in my life this year) and the ENT mentioned I'm probably going to need allergy shots down the lines.

**So basically, I wanna know if coughing up the mucus after the inhaler is normal and if allergy shots helped any of you with your asthma? Or any advice at all please! Thank you!**

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted