Weaning off codeine

Posted , 3 users are following.

This is my first time talking about it. For 2 years I've been taking codeine in the form of nurofen plus, solpadene max and cocodamol 30/500 when the doc prescribes it. I'm a recovering alcoholic and have been sober for 5 and a half years. After I stopped drinking I wouldn't touch anything drug-related in fear of it leading to me having a drink but 2 years ago I got my wisdom tooth extracted and ended up with a dry socket which is excruciating and eventually regular pain relief didn't work so I tried my bf's cocodamol that he was given after an operation. From then it led on to daily use and now I'm physically dependent.

One day I decided I'd had enough and stopped taking it. The next morning I felt like I was dying. Cold sweats, shakes, stomach pains, Vomiting and awful depression. From that moment I was terrified I would never do it as I went and bought more immediately.

That was 3 months ago. I was going through a 32 pack of nurofen plus daily as well as solpadene max to top up. I have now managed to reduce down to 6 nurofen plus and 6 solpadene max with great difficulty. I'm 31 and feel 90 with my aches and sore joints. I am getting married in 6 months and have never told anyone, including my fiancé that I take them, let alone that I'm addicted. So my pains are confusing to him as there is no reason for them.

My brain is unpredictable and unreliable. I'm depressed and so anxious so have to keep telling myself that it is just the withdrawal and it will pass. I'm so chuffed that I've been able to get down to the number I have but where does it end.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted