Wearing Boot All Day

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello everyone.  I'm new to the discussion but I'm pretty sure someone in the group will be able to help me.  I had surgery on November 1st and my stitches have been taken out.  My foot is wrapped and I take it off to shower.  I have to wear my boot for another 4 weeks and cannot put pressure on my foot at this time.  I would like to know after 6 weeks is anyone still sleeping in their shoe boot, do you keep it on when you have your foot propped and resting or do you only wear the shoe boot when you are up, about and out.

Thanks for any and all responses

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Boots are designed to protect your food 6/8 weeks. My mom went thru it and was tough but she was tough as nails. I had one bunion done three years ago and Imwas naoto nearly as brave as my mom was. 

Bad feet run in out family.

Follow docs instructions. Rest completely and keep your foot up as much as you can. 

Apply ice to relieve swelling and pain. Use pain meds painkillers that you should take regularly.Avoid bathing a wet dressing increases the risk of infection and tissue loss. Also, getting in and out of the bath could cause you to slip or fall, increasing your risk of displacing/breaking the bones in your foot. I installed tub bars once the incisions heeled and could bathe.

i could take my boot off one stitches were removed, just resting and for sleeping I had a soft boot for support while sleeping, available at any medical supply.

Try to move around with crutches or a stick, but stop if it's painful. Keep your foot raised as much as possible when sitting.Make sure you do your daily exercises

it is a slow go at first and once heeling advances your on to walking without those boots soon!  Take one day at a time . 

• Posted

Hi

I had a big toe fusion so was not allowed to put weight on it for y weeks only with my boot on

I never slept in my boot or when resting right from the time I had my op