Withdrawal nightmare

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

I've been reducing venlafaxine for probably nearly 2 years now off and on and i've got down from 225mg to 9.6mg (approx, I use a pill splitter). I am obviously very sensitive to the medication changes having been on venlafaxine for about 6 years and other antidepressants for 6 year prior to that. Every time I make a reduction I feel awful; nausea, anxiety, retching, headaches, irritable etc but I could deal with that if it weren't for the heart problems.

Every night for the past 9mths I've been jolted awake by the feeling that I've stopped breathing as I cross over into sleep (and sometimes before). Drs have given me a referral to a sleep clinic but they are sceptical that it's sleep apnea and just chalk it up to their favourite thing: anxiety. However, I can live with this happening although it is incredibly uncomfortable and sometimes painful, but for the fact that every month to six weeks I'll get a few nights where it's so bad that it will happen over and over again for several hours and it will be intolerable as I am exhausted and unable to sleep at all. Drs cannot find any reason for this happening and as it happens a few weeks after reducing my dose and i've had palpitations previously when I tried to stop the meds completely, I'm pretty sure it's due to the withdrawal. (I also sometimes get convulsive shakes like I'm a junkie or something)

The thing is it's pretty hard to reduce by such small amounts and I don't know how I can cut the pills any smaller. Websites about tapering ADs often say to use a liquid form, has anyone managed to get liquid venlafaxine in the UK?

I can't keep having time off work for withdrawal symptoms and I need to get off these drugs somehow so that I can try and get pregnant in the near future.

Awful drug sad

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted