Zopiclone and an upper respiratory infection

Posted , 6 users are following.

I've been on zopiclone for over a year and want to get off it, every time I stop taking it (even for one day) I get extremely dizzy and develop an upper respiratory infection which is so bad the hospital thought I had copd and prescribed Prednisone.

It seems that the lowest dose I can take is 1/2 a 7.5, if I take a 1/4 the dizziness and infection return.

I'm at my wit's end, my doctor doesn't believe that zopiclone can cause this.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

There's a link somewhere on this site about tapering off zopiclone.  Look for it and take it to your doctor.  

I wish i could could stop taking zopiclone I've been raking it for 10 years now and am prescribed 2x 7.5 per night.  

Its a a terrible drug and I'm ashamed to say it controls my life 

• Posted

When you say it controls your life, how? Side effects?

How do you obtain such a high dosage so often?

I have been taking it for about 8-12 weeks, Dr's refuse to prescribe more but it really helps me sleep. Am afraid of the longer term but it's great for now.

• Posted

During a period of depression 10 years ago I was prescribed 1 7.5 per day but after a period of maybe 9-12 months I found myself taking more and running out.  The feeling when I've run out is one of despair, feeling bad, sore heads, sometimes hilucinations and anxious.

my consultant then increased it to 2 a day but in all honestly some times I take more.  Really depends on the brand.

cant believe I've been on zopiclone for 10 years now.  I also get them elsewhere which is not the answer.  Short term the drug was great, it still is it's just the addiction I hate.

• Posted

Sorry to hear that. I will do my best to reduce off them fast.

Thanks for sharing!

• Posted

No , No do NOT come off them fast.

They need to be tapered off slowly.

Trust me I know what I am talking about.

• Posted