Hip replacement vs trochanteric bursitis

Posted , 6 users are following.

I love to sleep on my side. I have never been told not to sleep on my side. I have horrible hip pain. Worse pain on the LTHR, but on the right as well. MRI showed possible trochanteric bursitis and AVN with femoral ball crushed. Any suggestion for getting some good night sleep? I'm so sick of tossing and turning. Surgery was 8 months ago and I wish I never had it sad

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Sorry you are having so much trouble, Lori! I'd like to confirm what you said above. You had a left THR 8 months ago and have bad pain on that side, right? And on the right side you have AVN with a crushed femoral ball and possible trochanteric bursitis? Have you seen your surgeon about the problems with the THR, and do you have a diagnosis and treatment plan for whatever is wrong? And what about the right leg, what has the orthopedist said about that? I am not a medical professional, but a crushed femoral ball sounds very serious to me. Wouldn't that need surgery?
    • Posted

Sorry I must have wrote that wrong. I had AVN in left hip with crushed femoral ball and had that replaced 8 months ago but pain was worse after THR and never subsided even now after 8 months later. MRI stated possible trochanteric bursitis before surgery but no doctor has evaluated the pain since surgery and my leg is 5/8 inch shorter than right leg now after surgery. My right hip is now showing same signs as left hip. I have talked to one orthopedic doctor, 2 physical therapists, 2 general practitioners, 1 Physicians Assistant, and 1 Ciropractor who said he could not believe they surgeon drilled that far into my hip making my leg that much shorter after a measurement on X-ray. Of course he says he can fix that with a heel lift and straiten out my now crooked back. I think that sums it up lol
    • Posted