12 weeks after TKR....now terrible back pain...help

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi i had my TKR left knee 12 weeks ago and it zeems the knee is doing fine. But i have this low back pain radiating to the left hip which is so apinful i have had to up the cortisone intake (i already have a dose of 7mg per day for rheumatoinde arthritis) I had been limping for 2 years before the op and of course have only saterted to really walk normally since a few weeks. Has anyone experienced this. I am so desperate. Saw a chiropractor last week and he said my skeleton hip parts were desaxed. i have to wee hi every week for a while. Thanks for any input

Pam

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to hear this. Hopefully you can get it taken care of. Don't lose hope.

• Posted

From your back, through your hip and down your leg?  Right?  Me too.  Sciatica, at least for me, caused by a locked SI joint pinching the nerve.  Tried cortisone, Celebrex, Lyrica, 800mg ibuprophin...nothing.  Chiropractor is working on it.  Sciatic nerve pain is always really bad...not fun.  I pinched the nerve a few times during my hockey days.  Chiro laid me on a low bench, overlapped my leg and twisted my shoulders in the other direction.  Instant cure...three times.  Can't do that now because I have an artificial right hip and L3-S1 fused in my back...so I gotta fix this slow and easy.  Paying for 44 years on skates and a couple of thousand hip checks too many...  You might also try one of those battery-operated stim units on the point of pain.  Good relief sometimes.  $25 @ Walmart.

• Posted

This is very common. Siatica nerve gets pinched. Sometimes physical therapy can loosen it and other times on me tions. If you can get to apain management Dr you can get a quick answer. It may take an MRI to get an accurate diagnosis.