3 1/2 weeks TKR

Posted , 10 users are following.

I wrote before but don't know how to continue conversation. I am now 3 1/2 weeks TKR. I am not having a lot of pain unless I overdo walking or exercises. My question is when will it begin to feel normal? I still cannot sleep on my side, it hurts to do so. I am just beginning at home to use a cane instead of the walker, I only started yesterday but when tired I go back to walker. I started PT after 2 weeks and the therapists said my leg does well with laying flat and the bend is not bad for now but still needs work. I go to PT twice a week and do home exercises the other days. I have a very bad left hip and it's my left knee that was replaced so PT has to be slow and easy. If not for a bad fall I would have replaced the hip first, but had no choice. Went out to eat last night with hubby and daughter and her family. I sat in a booth with bad leg at outer edge. I did fine, but it was sore from holding it bent when I got home. First night I had a hard time sleeping. I don't like to take but one pain Med a day now and it wasn't screaming in pain, just being uncomfortable. I iced it, that usually helps but didn't do the job last night. I just over did it I guess. It was fine today and I tackled changing the bedding on our split King adjustable bed (no small feat under normal circumstance). Got it done though, they hadn't been changed since getting home from hospital and I love clean sheets. Should help me sleep tonight. I'm feeling restless but get very tired if I walk too much. That surprised me since walking is so elementary and it doesn't hurt much, just wears me out very quickly.  When does that change? I hope to be able to grocery shop or go to bank etc. soon. Doctor says I can drive our automatic since it's my left knee but that doesn't help if I can only walk a few feet after getting somewhere. Should I keep trying to build stamina walking? How long does it usually take to be able to do normal chores like grocery s