3rd week on fluoxatine

Posted , 6 users are following.

hi I am new to this but four weeks ago I started to get panic attacks.  Doctor put me on fluoxetine and I am in the third week.  Side effects have been really bad the worst being insomnia.  I get head pressure and I shake.  The panic has not got any better.  If I go back to the doctors it will mean more tablets.  Any advise out there?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I've been on it for 2 weeks and I've had bad head pressure and dizziness also along with lack of feeling and little appetite. I've also had vivid dreams which keep waking me up in the middle of the night and I can't get back to sleep. My doctor said the initial side effects should ease in 4-5 days but mine have gotten worse so I'm stopping the Fluoxetine and will probably have to try something else. You should probably consult whoever prescribed it to you to see how you should proceed.

• Posted

hello lisa 

the prozac is the slowest SSRI

meaning, it takes 4-5 weeks for it to be in system at a steady state.

Give it six weeks and then increase dose. I got worse before i got better.

• Posted

Raiyan did you have issues like I'm having after two weeks or did the initial side effects were off by then. I know it takes 4-6 to start working but the side effects I've been having make it hard to work and just do daily functions for me and the vivid dreams haven't helped my sleeping at all.

• Posted