4 weeks on fluoxetine

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone. Ive been on prozac now for 4 weeks. The worst initial symptoms are gone, but i still feel extremely fatigued and tired all the time. I still dont feel better at all regarding the depression and anxiety. Can it be that the meds takes more than 4 weeks to set in and start working?

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ed,

I'm not an expert but from all ghat I've read on here it seems it can take 3 to 6 months depending on the person. Hang in there!

• Posted

Hi Ed

Yes agree - these meds take many months not weeks to recover I'm afraid.  Took me 6 months and know some take longer and the fortunate few it happens much quicker.  However ..... patience and perseverance do pay off.

During recovery you may be up and down with anxiety (the downs being blips) but don't get alarmed thinking you're ill again - you're not.  Its just the way the meds and recovery works.  Recovery is really, really slow, but little by little the symptoms will go and you should start to feel in time.

K x

• Posted

Hi Kate. Thanks so much for the encouraging message. After how long on the meds did you start feeling that you might be improving a bit?
    • Posted

Hi Ed

I've been on these twice (am off again now), but the first time I took them it was about 3-4 months when I started noticing changes, and the second time I had different side effects and it took longer to kick it.

For most people its about 3 months.

K x

• Posted

These meds take a long time to kick in I've been in them roughly 3 months and I'm still not feeling 100 persent but have defo seen improvements.. people have told me they are worth the wait ..

Hope this gives you a little hope xx

• Posted

Hi Edd,