4 weeks post gallbladder surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

I had emergency gallbladder surgery and had to have a drain for a week. The first two weeks I barely lifted a finger. After 2 weeks i needed to go back to work over fear of losing my job. I work as a rural mail carrier. I drive while delivering mail and packages. I felt perfectly fine for those two weeks but now I am having the same pain I had when i had my gallbladder. Doctors cant give me any answers. Has anyone else experienced what felt to be a gallbladder attack but not have a gallbladder? I scared that I went back to work too soon and am worried that's why i am experiencing pain again.

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I am having same issues. Do you have pain when you breathe in? Where you gallbladder was? Best of luck! Keep us posted!
    • Posted

I had pain when I breathed in for the first 2 weeks but I assumed that it was just because of the gas they pump you with. That pain went away after 2 weeks.

• Posted

You need to remember you’ve had major surgery and had an organ removed. I didn’t go back to work for 8 weeks and still had pain where the gallbladder was. You’ve had surgical instruments pushed through your abdominal wall and this all takes time to knit back together. Honestly give it a good 6 months and you’ll notice the difference. For the first 6-8 weeks you’re not meant to lift anything heavier than 10lbs due to the risk of getting a hernia. Give yourself time to heal xx
    • Posted