8 months tkr

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone hope you are all doing ok got a question have been doing ok but went for a walk on sunday and my knee has been hurting since so have been resting it and went back on the pain killers i find if i walk about a mile i get a swlling at the bottom of my knee where im bending it and this is where the pain is help also going on holiday in 3 weeks first time since op any does or donts advice would be good

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Linda

I am the same post op as you and have the same pain after walking.

I am no expert but I think it's your leg just saying I am still healing. It does ease of with rest but my knee is still very stiff and I am still very aware of it. My bend is okay but sometimes it feels like it will break if I lunge too deep. I wonder will it always be like this, everyone else is running and walking miles! I have quite large knees so maybe it takes a little longer, and I too go on holiday in three weeks. Just hope I can get around okay in Spain. 

X

• Posted

Dont do lunges, at this stage it is also silly to run or walking any significant distance because if the shock impact that travels from your fott upwards. If you want to walk wear something like crocs that are soft and cushion the shock value. Walking for a distance is fine, just be prepared to cancel the next day
    • Posted

Thanks Sueisobel

Maybe thats why it feels so painful and heavy some days... I will stop the lunges, as I said sometimes I feel if it's going to snap!

I use the stationery bike for 15 minutes every day. Will I ever wake up and think, Hey, that feels okay today??

• Posted

When you are out walking use a can as support. Going on holiday will be good for you, puts you in a different mindframe. Just remember what has been done to you, make sure you pack meds and take them regularly
  • Posted

Hi Linda