9 weeks pregnant and just found out that im hyperthyroidism

Posted , 3 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

hi im newbie here anyone here is who's pregnant and hyperthyroidism as the same time? Or anyone experienced? Im really worried sad is hyperthyroidism needs a lifetime medication or just now that im pregnant. Any answer willg be a big help. TIA 😊

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a doctor or any kind of medical professional and I wasn't diagnosed with hyperthyroidism until age 60, but I know that it is not always necessary to have anti thyorid medication all one's life.  I was able to go off it after taking it less than 3 years.  I had heard of the predicted chance that someone would go into remission as only 20% of cases, but I think that really depends on a lot of factors.

If your doctor would approve of your taking Acetyl-L-Carnitine while pregnant and with the hyperthyroidism, I think it would help.  I didn't start taking it until after I was in remission, but I think it has helped me stay in remission.  I have taken it for about 8 months, I think.

• Posted

Hi

i would not worry.  It goes into remission in the second trimester I believe and then possibility of coming back after birth.  You will be monitored carefully and it is manageable during pregnancy.  If you do have it after the birth there is a possibility you might not be able to breast feed due to medication to manage your thyroid.  I would not worry too much about it and wait to see what happens.  Just make sure you rest and don't stress.  You can get it sorted afterwards.  I am currently just off block and replace medication after 18 months and levels are stable and feeling lots better. If I get it back I will have my thyroid out.  X

• Posted