A Long Journey Ahead.. (Endoscopy Results)

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I hope everyone is doing well.

A week ago I posted my journey off how iv been dealing with acid issues for the past four eyes. Last Sunday I had my first endoscopy done. Wow! It was some experience, to be honest I can say it was uncomfortable at best, you do gag but I had it without sedation just the throat spray. I'm 23 so when you see grown men doing it you have to man up! 😁

Endoscopy Results showed mild gastrtis with a normal osophegeus. This past week iv started experimenting with my diet ( which I have never done before) and the conclusion iv come to is if I don't eat junk I don't suffer. I mean I still take 30 mg lansoprazole daily, but I think if I can adjust my diet just right I can heal my stomach and come off the medication. It's still a work in progress.

Now my question is to those who are longer term and more experienced with gastrtis/acid reflux is do they think gastrtis is curable?

Feedback will be appreciated.

Thanks

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Gastritis is usually healed by using acid suppressant medication. You may need to double up your lansoprazole for a few weeks. (Discuss with your doctor.)

Do look at your diet and keep a food diary to determine your food triggers. One of the worst culprits can be processed meats.

I agree about endoscopes. Sedation has no effect on me so I have to have all mine with just throat spray - and I've had many - but they are necessary to ensure no permanent damage has been done (Barrett's Oesophagus). I have had 3 cm non-dysplastic Barrett's for at least 21 years and receive surveillance scoping every two years. I jus try to keep relaxed, concentrate on my breathing and know it will all be over in a short while.

• Posted