After bunion surgery

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am new to this discussion but would appreciate some help, I had a scarf osteotomy and akin on June 16th and 9 days post op, I was a bit concerned I had done too much walking around the house, even with crutches and the very glamorous boot.

What duration and for how long each day must you elevate you foot for, all I did was walk around my flat a bit, prepared dinner, but a bit worried now.

Appreciate any help.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Susie,

I think you are fine - at that stage I was encouraged to walk around for 40 mins of each hour & had same as you plus Mortons neuroma removed & knuckle removed from 2nd toe. The walking each hour will help recovery as long as gentle walking & rest foot up for plenty of periods in between. Your foot will swell after being up and about but will soon go down with ice pack on back of heel for 10 mins. All the sharp pains and aches are normal & become less & less over the weeks following op. I wore a large trainer from 2 weeks & this also helps keep swelling down & make you feel more normal! Now 8 weeks in recovery & can fit into some of my shoes already although foot gets tired after about hour walking still. Try and treat the foot as normal as possible as quickly as possible - say from 4 weeks on & you will be fine but remember to do the exercises given by hospital to get mobility back quicker, good luck 

• Posted

Thank you so much for your info, speedy recovery for all! I just called the hospital and they more or less confirmed what you said. 
    • Posted

Hi Daren,

I've had similar surgery.  When were you able to walk without a cane or crutches?  Did it hurt, and did you limp?  I'm three weeks out.  Thanks.

• Posted