Another small step.

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi all. Lately i have felt I've hit a wall and not progressing but today I had to take the dogs out for their walk as my hubby is away for the weekend. Well. I thought I would be pulled over or be stuck half way with them but it didn't happen.I did it. It wasn't too painful and I enjoyed it. It has occurred to me that if I have to do something (such as driving) because there is no alternative) then I go for it. However, if there is someone there to do the things I'd rather put off I let them do it for me. 9 wks plus 4 now. Wow where did that go? I now think I shall walk more so to the beach with the dogs. It's 2 miles there and back so wish me luck.

1 like, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

It's got to be true, if someone else will do it for us, we'll let them....I've been doing for myself for 40 yrs with the exception of a bf now and then, and do it all....or hire help as needed...

After my hip replacement and we were told NOT to drive for at least 2 weeks as I recall, and I was doing good overall and my daughter needed some help as her car was in the  shop, I drove her to the grandgirls's school at about the 7 day mark and I did fine. 

Good luck on the longer walk, hope it's not too much.   J 

• Posted

It won't be. I remember doing the walk a few weeks ago with sticks and pain killers. That was because my lovely grandson wanted to see the sea. Now I shall  do it without sticks and meds. Onwards and upwards1
  • Posted

Wow good for you Carol! Clearly it boosted your confidance and I feel you will handle the 2 mile walk to the beach just fine! ( and lucky you being so close to the beach!) I bet your dogs are happy too smile

Betty - almost 18 weeks ( but still can't go 2 miles

sad.  I have to catch up with Tucks, as she is putting me to shame!

• Posted

Good for you!, it's your recovery, so yes it's all up to you.

Savour the feel good factor, it will lift you higher and higher each time!!

Keep it up