Anti-thyroglobulin & Peroxidase How important?

Posted , 4 users are following.

A friend was diagnosed with hypothyroidism with a functioning goiter in 2014. last month she was retested in the Philippines. We were not given any useful interpretation of the results. I am looking for any help in 

understanding these.

TSH 0.98ng/ml  0.27 - 3.75ng/ml range 

FT4 13.43pm    11.5 - 23.0 pm range.

FT3 5.04 pmol/L 3.1 - 6.8 range. 

Anti - thyroglobulin 394.46 range -100 IU/ml .

Anti - Thyroid Peroxidase 441.89 -100 IU/ml

1 like, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello StephenCDN:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

TPOA  and TGab are for diagnosing autoimmune thyroid disease like Hashimoto's. These antibodies are normally dormant but under certain conditions like a virus called Epstein-Barr or Mononucleuosis they can be activated.  Also they can be active by pregnancy in women. Sometimes puberty and even menopause can trigger it.

Most times it is a family trait and that it hits 20 to 45 year old women more than men.

Now the blood:  TSH is normal at 0.98, and Free T4 (FT4) is normal at 13.43.  Also FreeT3  (FT3) is good and normal at 5.04.

Antibodies tests: TPOA 441.89 is high, should be close to zero or no more than 34 on some scales. Anti-globulin 394.46 is high.and again should be close to zero or under 10 on some scales.

So this means she has thyroid antibodies and they will attack the gland over time (takes many of years) and it will render it useless.  A goiter means her thyroid is enlarged and having a hard time to function and it swells and can be painful like a tight band. It can be helped by taking the thyroid medication, as I have a goiter also.  I was not diagnosed as a teenager as I should have been.