Antidepressants

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi,

I'm new to this and have never posted anything on a forum before.

I have resently started online therapy and my councelor wants me to go to the doctor and get antidepressants as she thinks I'm suffering from depression. I have never been able to talk about my feelings and stuff (hence speaking to a Councillor via messages instead of face to face) and the thought of talking to a doctor panics me. I also don't like the idea of being on medication. Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I believe you should take the advice of your counselor. If the thought of talking to a doctor panics you, how do you get medical help when your ill? Do you mean psychiatrist? Why did you seek counseling? What kinds of symptoms did you have. You have to take that step to see a psychiatrist especially if you have major depressive disorder because if left untreated can lead to other problems. You can do it!
  • Posted

I felt the same way when it was suggested that I go and see a psychologist for my depression. I am so glad I did the psychologist sent me to a psychiatrist and knock on wood the best decision I have ever made. Do not be afraid see a psychiatrist ASAP and tel him/her everything Is a piece of cake,, believe me you will be alright. Just have faith and go for it.
    • Posted

Hi

Thanks for your help. I guess part of the problem is that I have never talked about my feelings and don't really know how to. I keep hoping that I will feel better without having to ask for help but it doesn't seem like that is going to happen sad

Thanks again

• Posted