Anxiety and depression what shall I do?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Some years ago I was given medication for anxiety and when I asked the doctor how long I should take it for he smiled and said 'forever'. I stopped taking it after a while as it gave me stomach problems and I didn't like the way I felt.  I have also taken medication during a difficult period  for depression which I think I have had since I was a child.  I  stopped taking that when I felt a bit better.  I had some cbt which helped me with my thoughts which helped a little.  Ihave been 'below the line' for the last few months due to family.  I have ibs, fear of travelling, worry about everything, and feel useless.  I am not good at anything.  My  husband never says I look nice.  I don't want to take medication,  I am not sure what to do.

1 like, 15 replies

Report / Delete

15 Replies

• Posted

Wow... I'm sure you as not useless.. Can't you speak to any1 or try exercising, reading doing stuff to clear your mind, ?? 
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

hi, first of all you are not useless- i know you say you dont want to take meds but perhaps your present low mood may be related to stopping the anti-depressant meds- this happned to me, i also stopped taking the meds when i felt better- i then went into a period of feeling very low and also lost all sense of my own self-worth- i went to  a counsellor who advised me to talk to my GP, who then put me on a different anti- depressant at a lower dose- it really worked for me- i wonder could your anxiety issue be related to this also? - talk to your GP or another health proffesional- but remember no matter how low you are feeling now - you are not useless- we all get ill at some time in our lives whether mental or physical i hope things improve for you soon -
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted