anxiety at work as a supervisor

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi this is my first post in a long time as I have been doing really well up to now. Im an electrician supervisor at work and have 6 young lads working for me. Im having issues with them standing around on phones and not working. And coming to work drunk. When I confront them I get overwhelmed with anxiety and panic. This is causing me problems when addressing issues with the lads. Once I have confronted them I spend the rest of the day feeling very anxious and wound up. My mood drops and so does my concentration levels. Im hoping someone can give me some tips on how I am best going about confronting the problems on the job and how I can deal with the anxiety better. Im geting desperate now because I need the lads to work hard and I need to make sure I approach it in the right way. Regards

Richard

1 like, 9 replies

Report / Delete

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Richard

I have just taken early release from work because of anxiety but I am now convinced it was the wrong decision because I am more stressed now than before.

I have done various power roles in my time for the company I worked for and one of those roles was contract supervision on electrical installation. I had to send 2 guys home f o r being drunk and found it very hard. But in this game it is to dangerous to keep them on. Some one told me once in supervising staff you must have an iron fist in a velvet glove, so let them know who is in charge and any messing about they will be out. There are some good sparks out there who would love to have the opportunity to prove themselves and would not mess you about.

With all regulatory stuff about these days you can't afford have blackheads on site.

Good luck

Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted